Roasted Mutton

I had to say some of my “see you later” ’s these last couple of weeks. It’s still strange to think I won’t be seeing everyone next semester; it’s beginning to make this whole ‘study abroad’ thing more real. Up until now I’ve been dealing mostly with ideas, numbers, dates, and pictures. Now I’m dealing with the more personal side. For my last night in Grand Forks, several of my friends and I went to the midnight premiere of “The Hobbit,” which actually has deeper meaning to me right now. Not only is it the prequel to the “Lord of the Rings,” one of my favorite epics, but it’s also the last outing I’ll have with my friends until I see them again in the fall. Although, there is a rumor of a reality-show like blog to keep me connected. In a larger sense, Bilbo and I can seriously relate to each other right now. We’re both going somewhere with people we don’t know, to some far-off place we’ve never been, and we’re both going to encounter dragons (mine will probably be less dangerous). It is this connection that sparked the theme of this blog.

As every other student who’s studied abroad I’ve hit that anxious/excited state. The emotion’s I’m feeling are intense, I’m just not sure which emotion it is!

Image

All of these. All at once.

Now that I’m done with finals and have all of this time off, I’ve been volunteering at the Red River Zoo more often; getting around and working out some of my excited energy.  Or, when I stay at home, I stress-clean; this at home method has been met with little objection from my mom. At this point I have nothing left to do but wait and pack; which, by the way, is seriously one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Because, naturally I need all of my clothes, books, shoes, movies, game-boards, cleaning supplies, a microwave… wait this seems familiar: . Yep, that’s about right. I have packed-unpacked-repacked-unpacked-repacked at least a dozen times, and I still feel like I’m bringing too much and yet not enough.

 In a week (a week to the day!) I will be boarding a plane. That’s a scary thought. I think I need to start taking dramamine…
Leave a Reply

